GOVERNANCE RE-DESIGN

FORWARD

In fall 2022, President Gutierrez formed an ad hoc task force to assess the current governance structure at Hartnell College, review the governance structure re-design presented in 2021/2022, and provide recommendations for a new governance model.

To guide the process, the following questions were guiding principles for the task force:

- Can governance at Hartnell College be more EFFICIENT?
- Can governance at Hartnell College better support GUIDED PATHWAYS?
- Can governance at Hartnell College stress STUDENT SUCCESS AND EQUITY?

COUNCILS AND COMMITTEES

After the creation of various approaches and models, a new governance structure has been proposed. In this structure:

College Planning Council becomes the Hartnell College Council

Sub-committee: Accreditation

Four councils will oversee key areas of campus governance, to include:

- Equity Assurance
 - Sub-committee: EEO/Diversity
 - Sub-committee: Professional Development
- Institutional Resources
 - Sub-committee: Advancement Council
 - Sub-committee: Safety Committee
- Student Success
 - Sub-committee: Advisory Research Group
 - Sub-committee: Strategic Enrollment Management
- Technology Learning Support

Changes to the existing governance structure include:

- The current Administrative Services Committee and Facilities Committee will no longer be separate committees, with duties and oversight now part of the Institutional Resources Council.
- The current Academic Affairs Council and Student Affairs Council will no longer be separate councils, with shared duties and oversight now part of the Student Success Council. (This aligns with updates to accreditation standards of "Student Success").
- The current Online Services Committee and Technology Development Council
 will no longer be separate committees/councils, with shared duties and oversight
 now part of the Technology Learning Support Council.

Academic Senate standing committees remain the same (Curriculum Committee, D.E. Committee, Faculty Professional Development Committee, Full-Time Faculty Hiring Committee, Program Planning Outcomes & Assessment (formerly Outcomes & Assessment), and the Student Success and Equity Committee (formerly Student Success Committee). The Hartnell College District will continue to rely primarily on the Academic Senate for all "10+1" areas of oversight.

COUNCILS AND OVERSIGHT

The Hartnell College Council focuses on issues affecting the entire college and can generate requests for the councils.

Councils work independently and only need to bring action items to the HCC for initiatives affecting the entire district. (See Appendix A).

Following protocols of AP 2510, council recommendations will normally be accepted by the superintendent/president. Only in exceptional circumstances and for compelling reasons will a recommendation not be accepted. If a recommendation is not accepted the superintendent/president shall promptly communicate the reason to the appropriate council in writing.

Any council retains the right to form ad hoc committees, as needed, for special circumstances or situations. Ad hoc committees are at the discretion of each council, based on a majority vote from the council membership. Ad hoc committees should include (but are not limited to) existing council members. Outsides members should be approved by the appropriate constituency group.

Any action items by the councils should be reported to appropriate stakeholders after approval.

MEMBERSHIP

All councils have tri-chairs (one administrator, one faculty, one staff) who will determine the agenda for each council and oversee meetings.

All councils have membership reflecting equal representation between administrators, faculty and staff. Council membership is designed to best serve the focus of each council.

Final membership of each council and sub-committee will be determined by each constituent group (administrator, faculty and staff) Unless designated to a council by de facto role (College Superintendent, CSEA President, Academic Senate President, etc.), and absent constituency group criteria for member selection/eligibility (e.g. bylaws, collective bargaining agreement, etc.), it is recommended that members should be elected by their constituent group via a democratic and transparent election process.

All councils have student representation, one from each Meta Major (five students per council). All student members will receive a stipend for their service.

All council sub-committees should align handbooks to include representation from all four groups (administrators, staff, faculty and students).

Membership of all councils and sub-committees is open to all District campuses and centers, and participation from all campuses and centers should be robustly pursued.

Constituent groups may assign alternates who fill-in for regular council members when needed. Alternates may vote on behalf of the regular member but should abstain if there is no knowledge of the action item.

If a council member is no longer able or willing to fulfill their duties, they may ask the trileads to seek a new appointment for their position.

Unless specified in council and sub-committee by-laws, "faculty" indicates full-time or part-time faculty representation.

MEETING PROTOCOLS

All councils and sub-committees will reflect the District's values of diversity, equity and inclusion in practices, procedures and standards.

All councils will follow agreed upon standards based on Robert's Rules of Order, with appropriate training provided by the District as needed.

All councils and sub-committees will meet in a hybrid format (face-to-face w/an online option)

For agenda items requiring a vote, 2/3 of quorum is required for an affirmative vote, with at least one vote in the affirmative from each of the constituents (administrator, staff and faculty).

For initiatives and/or policies with District-wide implications, the Hartnell College Council must receive the first read to provide feedback, and should be the last read with approval after the appropriate stakeholders, councils, and committees have provided additional feedback.



ADMINISTRATION	STAFF	FACULTY
Assoc. V.P. of I.R.P.E.	Chair, SPDC	Chair, SSEC
Director of Research	O and A coordinator	Chair, FPDC
V.P.A.A.	Research Analyst	Co-chair, EEO/Diversity
V.P. H.R.	At-Large	Co-chair, P.P.O.A.
Dean of Student Equity	At-Large	At-Large
	Student Meta Major Reps (x5)	

STAFF	FACULTY
Business Office Controller	Co-Chair, PPOA
CTE Grant Office	BUS/ECON Faculty Member
At-Large	Chair, FTFHC
At-Large	Library
Student Meta Major Reps (x5)	
	Business Office Controller CTE Grant Office At-Large At-Large





ADMINISTRATION	STAFF	FACULTY
V.P.A.A.	P.P.O.A. Committee	Co-Chair, P.P.O.A.
Dean of Enrollment	Admissions	ABI Meta Major
Dean of Learning Support	Athletics	A and L Meta Major
Dean of South County	DSPS	Counseling
Dean of Student Success	Financial Aid	Health Science Meta Major
Dean of Student Life	Human Resources	Social Sciences Meta Major
Dir. of Student Academ. Support	Library	S.T.E.M. Meta Major
Dir.of College Readiness	Student Life	Chair-Curriculum Committee
V.P.S.A.	Tutoring	Chair-SSEC
	Student Meta Major Reps (x5)	

ADMINISTRATION	STAFF	FACULTY
Director of I.T.	Audio-Visual	D.E. Committee Chair
V.P.A.A.	Technology Specialist	C.S.S. Faculty Member
V.P.I.T.	Technology Specialist	Library
V.P.S.A.	At-large	Technology Pedagogy Specialist
	Student Meta Major Reps (x5)	



HCC

ADMINISTRATION	STAFF	FACULTY
President	President, CSEA	President, Academic Senate
V.P. Academic Affairs	V.P., CSEA	President, HCFA
V.P. Administrative Services	President, L-39	ABI Meta Major
V.P. Advancement	CSEA rep	A and L Meta Major
V.P. Human Resources	L-39 rep	Counseling
V.P. Student Affairs	At-Large	Health Sciences Meta Major
V.P. Information Technology	At-Large	Social Sciences Meta Major
A.V.P. Institution Research	At-Large	S.T.E.M. Meta Major
	Student Meta Major Reps (x5)	



